#romanceclass, ARC Review, Book Reviews, Books, Filipino

ARC Review: The Queen’s Game by Carla de Guzman

red wborderJ

The-Queens-Game-Generic

SYNOPSIS

There are only two reasons why Nina would come back home to Cincamarre–one, if Auntie Delia promises to stop butting into her business, two, if her father died and she was made to ascend the throne to be queen.

Unfortunately for her, it was the second thing that brought her home.

As a princess who’s sunk a yacht and been caught kissing popstars, it’s easy for her aunt, the regent, to think she’s ill prepared for the throne. But Nina doesn’t think that having to fake date Felipe, the handsome, squeaky clean Prince of Concordia was the best solution for that.

Nina’s ready to learn the ropes of her new role and make it hers, and reconnecting with Felipe only makes her want to be a better queen. But is the monarchy ready for Queen Nina?

GOODREADS
Purchasing link: Amazon

red review

The Queen’s Game is a story that I didn’t know that I needed. 

Lurking around on Twitter certainly has its perks and one of ’em is being able to spot upcoming releases that are up for reviews. That’s how I ended up with The Queen’s Game. Once I saw the ARC request link on my timeline, I clicked on it and immediately became so enamored with its premise. I want it. So without a shadow of doubt, I jumped into the opportunity of reading and reviewing it before its publication date. Just read that synopsis, I don’t know how you can say no that.

Filipino Royals, fake dating, childhood friends to lovers, badass and refreshing Princess – this book has it all.

The main reason why I got so curious with The Queen’s Game is because it’s a royal contemporary story. Even better because it follows the story of Filipino Royals. Is it the first book that attempted to do this concept? If not, I probably need to find it. In just a few chapters, Carla de Guzman was able to lay out a great and believable world building and transported me to Cincamarre. I’ve always been fascinated with Kings and Queens and with this book it allowed me to imagine even more on how things could possibly go if we have a monarchy system here in our country. I think it’ll be cool and fun. But let’s just not involve the leaders we have in our country today…Oops.

I’ll definitely opt to have someone like Nina to lead our country. For sure. Nina is a breath of fresh air. She’s young (pro: it’ll be easy for her to keep up with the millennials) yet capable. Her past ways may have caused trouble for her reputation but I admire her for owning up to it. But most importantly she knows when to take things seriously. Even though her principles and methods are completely different from the ones in power are accustomed to follow through. She smashes through the glass case that we usually place and identify a princess character. It makes her standout. Anticipate for the things that she’ll do because it’s highly entertaining.

Prince of Concordia, Felipe, I love. Felipe’s one quirky and swoon-y character. I won’t describe him fully because I want you to be surprised. Just like how he surprised me. But he’s the other half of the fake dating stint and what makes it more interesting is that they’re childhood friends. Okay, my feels weren’t prepared for that when I started reading this and so when I learned about it – well, it just sent me straight into book heaven. The Queen’s Game just combined two of the tropes that get me so weak but despite that, it wasn’t overdone. I love that. The romance was there (sweet and hot, at times) but the main spotlight remains towards Nina’s character development and the road to be the Queen of Cincamarre. Felipe and their relationship became one of Nina’s anchor.

The only thing that I’m not a huge fan of is its transition. I mean, it is smooth and you can easily follow through the story. You won’t be confused at all. But this is just the side of me who “wants more fillers in between the periods of time that the scope of this book went through” speaking. It skipped some months. I want more accounts of Felipe and Nina’s childhood or of them dating. I want more of Tito Ernie because I’m so curious about him. He got several laughs out of me but I can feel that there’s more to him than his carefree self. I want more stories from this world. (LOL!)

If it’s still not obvious…yes, I enjoyed The Queen’s Game a lot and would highly recommend for you to check it out once it goes live on Amazon. It’s a royal contemporary story that you can easily breeze through. 🙂

RATING

wp-1489217866306.jpg

Here’s a simple The Queen’s Game Mood Board: 

page

Of sunflowers, red lipsticks, letters and golden crown… Find out how relevant these things are to Nina and Felipe on The Queen’s Game! Few more day until it releases! ❤

signature

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Queen’s Game by Carla de Guzman”

Leave a Reply

